Home Local Sitemap Contact

Please enter your email
below to receive the
Clare-UK newsletter

Town Council

Clare Town Council has a number of functions for which it is entitled to levy a rate. It controls the following duties ...

1 The Playing Fields and Pavilion
2 The Cemetery
3 The Churchyard
4 The Ancient House
5 The Old School Community Centre
6 The Town Hall

It conducts its business through a monthly Town Council meeting, held on the third Thursday of every month . A number of committees are responsible for making recommendations to the full Council. All meetings are open to the public. You can view all the 2014 meeting dates here.

Guidance for parishioners wishing to speak at Town Council meetings can be viewed here.
Clare Town News :
Clare Town Newsletter

Clare Town Council Office is open to the public:
Monday & Thursday 9.00am-1.00pm

Mrs Claire Ebeling
Town Clerk
The Old School
Callis Street
CO10 8PX

Tel: 01787 277559

The Town Council Committees

 In order to create an efficient Town Council, various commitees have been set up to deal with individual aspects of running the town. These commitees are...

Environment Committee

The Committee is responsible for the running and upkeep of the Cemetery, Churchyard, greenswards, grass cutting and trees in these areas, and street cleaning. The Town Council employs a part time street cleaner. Councillors responsible are Alan Parsley (Chair), Derek Blake, Phil Gryce and Gayle Mallows. Olive Smith and Paul Bishop are lay members. Click here to see Environment Committee Meeting Minutes.

Finance Committee

The Committee manages all aspects of the Council's finances and in particular recommends the precept each year, is responsible for insurance of Town Council property, risk management issues, for maintaining the assets register and monitoring the performance and contracts of those who render services to the Council i.e. clerks and street cleaner. Councillors responsible are Derek Blake (Chair), Gayle Mallows, Leslie Warmington, Margaret Godwin and Alan Parsley.

Emergency Planning Committee

The Committee oversees emergency planning procedures for Clare. It is made up of volunteers from the community. Peter Phillips represents the Town Council. For full information about emergency planning procedures for Clare, click here.

Community Committee

The Committee oversees the Clare website, the Town News and other public communications. Councillors responsible are Keith Haisman (Chair), Phil Gryce, Peter Phillips and Gayle Mallows.

Planning Committee

Clare Town Council is consulted on planning matters by St Edmunsbury Borough Council. All plans go to full Town Council but officers who have a specific interest in planning applications are Gayle Mallows (Chair), Margaret Godwin and Phil Gryce. Click here to see Planning Committee Meeting Minutes.

Additional Town Council Information

© Clare-UK.com